He Got Game

21. He Got Game (1998) [Rated R for pervasive language, strong sexuality, some drug content and violence.]

summary from imdb.com:

Jake Shuttlesworth is in prison serving time for killing his wife in a violent family feud. He is released on parole, but with one condition – he must persuade his son, genius basketball player Jesus to sign with the governor’s alma mater university, Big State. And Jake only has a week to do it.

directed by: Spike Lee

starring: Denzel Washington, Ray Allen, Milla Jovovich, Rosario Dawson, Zelda Harris, Ned Beatty, Jim Brown, Bill Nunn, John Turturro, J.C. MacKenzie, Jennifer Esposito

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
James Bowman
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Ray Allen: And you’re in it with ’em. You’re in cahoots with D’Andre and Dom. Don’t even lie. Tell me the truth. I knew that ever since I left that house. Ever since I walked in the house, as a matter of fact.

Rosario Dawson: And why shouldn’t I get paid, huh? Why shouldn’t Lala get something outta this? Everybody else is.

Ray: [Sigh] I can’t believe this. I really can’t.

Rosario: Well, you believe it. I believed you when you said that you would never leave me, Jesus. And I believed you when you asked me to get that abortion. When you begged me to get that abortion, I believed you.

Ray: We both agreed on that.

Rosario: I wanted that child.

[flashback:]

Rosario: I wanted to know what you think because it’s…

Ray: What I think? A baby’s gonna hurt my chance of going to college. I mean, the top schools, they’re gonna be scared away. Damn! I’m too young. You’re too young. We ain’t ready for nothin’ like this.

[end of flashback]

Ray: How did we get pregnant anyway? Let’s talk about that.

[another flashback:]

Ray: Are you sure?

Rosario: I’m not getting pregnant now, papi. I just wanna feel you inside of me… without a jimmy.

[end of flashback]

Ray: “I can’t get pregnant, papi.” “I wanna feel you inside of me, papi.” Isn’t that what you said?

Rosario: well Lala has to look out for herself.

Ray: Lala played herself, that’s what she did.

============================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He Got Game

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

