North Country

17. North Country (2005) [Rated R for sequences involving sexual harassment including violence and dialogue, and for language.]

summary from imdb.com:

A fictionalized account of the first major successful sexual harassment case in the United States — Jenson vs. Eveleth Mines, where a woman who endured a range of abuse while working as a miner filed and won the landmark 1984 lawsuit.

directed by: Niki Caro

starring: Charlize Theron, Frances McDormand, Sean Bean, Woody Harrelson, Jeremy Renner, Richard Jenkins, Sissy Spacek, Michelle Monaghan, Amber Heard, Xander Berkeley

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
Megan Basham
Nehring the Edge
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life content:

Charlize Theron: It’s me. I didn’t want you, Sammy. Something bad had happened to me, and I just wanted it to be over. But every day my belly grew, and it just reminded me of it. Never even occurred to me that there was a baby in there. That you were in there. That day, what that man did to me… it made me into something different. And I guess… I guess I thought… it said something about who you were too. I was a girl who was raped, and you were this… thing… that just kept reminding me of it. Oh, God, I’ve dreaded this conversation since the day you were born. I don’t want any more secrets between us. This one night… I was lying in bed… and you moved inside me… like this tiny little butterfly, just fluttering around in there. And all of a sudden, I realized… I just knew… I knew you weren’t his. You were mine. You were my baby. And we were gonna be in it together. Just the two of us. You had nothing to do with that ugliness, you hear me? Nothing. And there’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do to be your mom.

========================

from movieguide.org:

Ironically, however, the movie also contains a scene that delivers a subtle, but powerful, message against abortion. In the scene, Theron’s character Josey tells her son Sammy that, although he was the product of a vicious rape, she decided to keep him and love him because the baby in her womb was not responsible for the rape.

This pro-life message is slightly muted by an indication that the issue of keeping the baby or not was a choice that Theron’s character made for herself, but the message should encourage women who see it not to abort their babies, even if they have been raped.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to North Country

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

