Starting Out in the Evening

15. Starting Out in the Evening (2007) [Rated PG-13 for sexual content, language and brief nudity.]

summary from imdb.com:

An ambitious graduate student convinces a writer that her thesis can resurrect his career.

directed by: Andrew Wagner

starring: Frank Langella, Lauren Ambrose, Lili Taylor, Adrian Lester, Jessica Hecht

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
movieguide.org Christian reviews

A Trailer

Abortion/Life Content:

Lili Taylor: Well, Dad, seeing that I’m nearing the big Four-O, I’ve decided to make a bold move. I’m going to have a baby.

Frank Langella: Oh, that’s wonderful. I’m so happy for you. I must confess, I’m a bit surprised. The last time we spoke you didn’t seem very enthusiastic about Victor.

Lili: I’m not. He doesn’t know about it. It’s a solo project.

Frank: What do you mean, a solo project?

Lili: Dad, let’s face the facts. I’m not getting any younger. If I can’t have a family, I want to have a child before it’s too late. So I’ve stopped taking precautions with Victor and hopefully the stars will line up for me.

Frank: Ariel, darling, I sympathize with your predicament but you’re acting out of desperation. Not to mention the moral implications.

Lili: Here we go.

Frank: It’s dishonest and a violation of Victor’s trust in you.

Lili: Well, Dad, maybe the characters in your books have the luxury of grappling with moral issues, but I’m in the real world.

Adrian Lester: Ariel, before we get too far in again… I feel I should let you know that I haven’t changed my position on having children.

Lili Taylor: Really?

Adrian: Yeah. I thought I should let you know that right away so there are no misunderstandings later.

Lili: That’s fair.

Adrian: I would rather walk away right now than risk the kind of pain we went through last time.

Lili: So there are no misunderstandings later, I haven’t changed my position either. But don’t worry. I… I’m just going to toy with you for a couple of months, then leave you by the wayside, begging for more. But until then, let’s just keep things like they are right now. Hot and light. Okay?

Lili Taylor: I can’t do it, Casey.

Adrian Lester: Can’t do what?

Lili: I can’t do hot and light.

Adrian: Hey, I never called it hot and light. That’s your term.

Lili: Oh, yeah? What do you call it?

Adrian: Love. That’s what I call it.

Lili: Right. With one condition. And I can’t live with it. I never could.

Adrian: I thought that was behind us.

Lili: Yeah, you know, what can I say, Case? I have a bad habit of silencing myself with you. I barely survived it the last time. It doesn’t say much for me if I get in line for more of the same, does it?

Adrian: Ariel. Why go back there, huh? I mean, we talked it all through.

Lili: No, we didn’t talk it through. You defended yourself and I got over it.

Adrian: You asked me to leave, remember? I wanted to stay.

Lili: Oh, lose the child, and then go on as if nothing happened? Come on. How long would that have lasted? Let’s be honest, Casey. It may not be my fate to have children. I can live with that. But I just can’t live without possibility. And you’re a closed man, Casey. There’s just not enough air in your world.

========================

from James Berardinelli:

Leonard’s only daughter, Ariel (Lili Taylor), doesn’t trust Heather, but she has enough problems in her own life to keep her from interfering too much in her father’s. She’s involved with Casey (Adrian Lester), her perfect match in every way except one. She desperately wants children and he is opposed to them. They broke up several years ago when an unplanned pregnancy led Ariel to have an abortion. Now, they have reached an impasse: they love each other but neither is willing to bend on the offspring issue.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting Out in the Evening

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

