The Opposite of Sex

14. The Opposite of Sex (1998) [Rated R for strong language and sex related dialogue and sexuality.]

summary from imdb.com:

A 16-year-old girl visits her gay half-brother and ends up seducing his boyfriend, thus wreaking havoc on all of their lives.

directed by: Don Roos

starring: Christina Ricci, Martin Donovan, Lisa Kudrow, Lyle Lovett, Johnny Galecki

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
movieguide.org Christian reviews

A Trailer

Abortion/Life content:

Christina Ricci: No, I mean, I’m late. My period’s late. Do you know what that means? I’m pregnant. We’re pregnant.

Ivan Sergei: You’re kidding. We were using condoms. Are you sure? Is it mine?

Ricci: See? Only straight boys ever say that line. You’re in.

Ivan: No, I mean, don’t get my hopes up if you’re not sure.

Ricci narration: We were gonna break it to him in stages. One, we’re in love. Two…surprise. We had just gotten to number one when Lucia dropped by. Typical.

Lisa Kudrow: I knew you were trouble. This is your brother here. And you, how could you?

Ivan: It just happened. We didn’t mean to hurt anyone. […] It’s just that…with the baby and all, it would be easier.

Martin Donovan: You’re pregnant?

Ricci: It was gonna be a surprise.

Lisa: Do you wanna get an abortion? –

Ivan: No! G##! Bill, if we could just stay here until we get married and the baby comes…

Ricci: Who said anything about getting married?

Ivan: You don’t wanna get married?

Ricci: I just don’t think it’s something we should rush into.

Lisa: No, but bring another human life onto the planet, that’s whim time. Am I the only one here who wants to kill someone?

Ricci: You wish.

Martin: I’ll talk to you all tomorrow. I’m beat.

Lisa: Smoking is bad for the baby.

Ricci: Like you care. Or was it someone else who mentioned abortion?

Lisa Kudrow: I’ll tell you what this is about, this is about timing. This is about trimesters, and you know what I’m talking about.

Christina Ricci narration: I don’t know what’s so great about motherhood. Just looking at that soft spot made me wanna scream. I told Matt and Jason that I wanted to keep him, and they were pretty cool about it. When you nearly hemorrhage to death, people cut you a break. […] Me, they put in jail for six months for leaving the scene of a crime or something. Even though they couldn’t prove it was murder. […] I let Bill take custody of the baby. […] Bill was cute with R.J. — that’s Randy junior. […] Anyway, R.J. was crazy about him and vice-versa. But he never really took to me. Maybe Jason was right, I’m not the mommy type. I don’t care. But the court says I’m supposed to hang here with my brother until I’m eighteen… just the three of us, except for once a week visits from my parole officer […] Sex always ends in kids or disease… or like, you know, relationships. That’s exactly what I don’t want. I want the opposite of all that. Because it’s not worth it, not really, is it… when you think about it? Okay, so maybe I’m wrong. Maybe it’s not all ####. Maybe…

============================

from the sarcastic pro-abortion Eve Kushner:

In The Opposite of Sex (1998), after Dedee (Christina Ricci) reveals that she’s expecting, Lucia (Lisa Kudrow) asks, “Do you want to get an abortion?” Dedee’s boyfriend, Matt (Ivan Sergei), answers for her with a horrified, “No! God!” Then the film distances itself further from the possibility of abortion, ignoring Lucia’s sensible critiques of the whimsy of unplanned parenthood. When Lucia later tells Dedee that “smoking is bad for the baby,” Dedee makes a gratuitous dig at Lucia’s pro-choice stance: “Like you care! Or was it someone else who mentioned abortion?” Dedee implies that because Lucia raised the possibility of abortion, the baby’s health is unimportant to her. […]

The Opposite of Sex’s Dedee isn’t the “mommy type,” but it doesn’t matter because every gay man in town wants to take care of her baby. And why not? Babies are “miracles” and “magic” (according to a character in Nine Months). They glow under a soft-focus lens. They don’t cry much. If they do, some dancing will quiet them down (again, Nine Months). In the womb or even as mere sperm they think amusing thoughts and feel physical sensations (Look Who’s Talking). Given that babies, fetuses, and even sperm are so darn personable, how can anyone not feel swept away by the prospect of birth?

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Opposite of Sex

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

