Rob Roy

32. Rob Roy (1995) [Rated R for violence and sexuality.]

summary from imdb.com:

In the highlands of Scotland in the 1700s, Rob Roy tries to lead his small town to a better future, by borrowing money from the local nobility to buy cattle to herd to market. When the money is stolen, Rob is forced into a Robin Hood lifestyle to defend his family and honour.

directed by: Michael Caton-Jones

starring: Liam Neeson, Jessica Lange, John Hurt, Tim Roth, Eric Stoltz, Brian Cox

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
movieguide.org Christian reviews

A Trailer

Abortion/Life Content:

Vicki Masson: Take me away with you.

Tim Roth: I am away, Betty, and God help me, this is where I’ve landed. You think me a gentleman because I have linen and can manage a “lisp”. I am but a bastard abroad, seeking my fortune and the favours of great men, as big a whore as my mother ever was.

Vicki: I’m pregnant by you, Archie.

Tim: Well. When it asks for its father’s name, at least you’ll have it to give.

Tim Roth: I’ve come for the outlaw Robert McGregor.

Jessica Lange: If you think he’d be lying in his bed waiting for you, you’re more of a fool than you look.

Jessica Lange getting punched in the gut by Tim Roth: Ohh!

Tim: Search the outsheds. Burn them. Kill the stock.

Brian Cox: You best stand aside, Mistress McGregor.

Tim: You don’t ask a whore. You make her.

[Jessica Lange gets pulled into her house, thrown to the floor, and raped]

Tim: Do you want yours now, Killearn? Now that I’ve loosened her up for you. Think of yourself as the scabbard and me the sword, Mistress McGregor. And a fine fit you were, too.

Jessica: I will think of you dead until my husband makes you so. And then I will think on you no more.

Tim: Indeed. Such a man as he will need to see blood on his blade before honour is satisfied. Tell him Archibald Cunningham is at his service.

Vicki Masson: Archie, sir! I must speak with you. I am dismissed from service on account of my state.

Tim Roth: And what is your state, pretty Betty?

Vicki: You know well. I’m with your child. And he… this one… has made report of it.

Brian Cox: My report did nothing your belly wouldn’t announce on its own.

Vicki: Archie, what am I to do?

Tim: Root it out. If Killearn does not know a crone with a twig, I miss my guess.

Vicki: It’s gone too far for that.

Tim: Then it will not be the first bastard born in Scotland.

Vicki: Archie, I love you.

Tim: Love is a dunghill, Betty, and I am but a cock that climbs upon it to crow.

Vicki: No!!! [crying]

Jessica Lange: Will you take some supper and rest, Betty? For you look ill-used.

Vicki Masson: Oh, I’m no worse used than I deserve, Mistress McGregor. For I have a bastard’s bastard in me, and no home for him when he comes out.

Jessica: Then we better feed you, or he won’t have the strength to try it. Oh, lass, lass, lass. Bear up now. Your bairn will have you, and you will have it.

Vicki: But I will not have Archie. Mistress McGregor, I love him even after all. Oh, is that not a worse sin than any other?

Jessica: No, Betty. Love is never a sin, only the lack of it.

Brian Cox: Betty! Is that you?

Jessica Lange: Betty is dead. She killed herself this night and her unborn with her.

Brian Cox to Jessica Lange: I have another picture not so noble of you stood in Lomond Water, washing between your legs. Hmm? I wondered many a time since that morning, did you wash Archie out of you, or is he still in there, growing into his father? He is. He is! Well, I have a proposal for you, Mistress McGregor. Persuade your man that Cunningham alone killed his man and kept the money entirely, and I will not speak of what you have inside ya. Rob would be hard pressed to love such a bastard, would he not? But you know the saying, Mary. ‘Tis a wise father knows his own child. And if you’ll not say anything, neither will I. You have my word on it.

Brian McCardie: Forgive me, Rob, for I can’t forgive myself.

Liam Neeson: Save your breath, lad.

Brian: I couldn’t have saved her, Rob. They were done with Mary before I reached her. She made me swear not to tell you. I’m sorry.

Liam: Done what with Mary? Done what?

Brian: She said… She said if she could bear it…

Liam: What of Mary, Alasdair?

Brian: Rob, I can’t see.

Liam: I’m here, Alasdair. What of Mary? What of it?

Brian: They… They violated her.

Liam: Alasdair, who did this?

Liam Neeson: Oh, my Mary. How fine you are to me.

Jessica Lange: And you to me. Oh, Robert, there is more.

Liam: What more?

Jessica: I am carrying a child and I do not know who is the father.

Liam: Ach, Mary. Mary.

Jessica: I could not kill it, husband.

Liam: It is not the child who needs killing.

Jessica Lange: What if you do not return to us?

Liam Neeson: If it’s a boy, call him Robert. If a lass, name her for my love… Mary McGregor.

==========================

from a user review at imdb.com:

This movie has a decidedly different take on abortion. The first character to get pregnant is the villain’s (Roth) girlfriend, and when he coldly suggests an abortion, she states it is too late for that. The shame of her situation (“I’m to have a bastard’s bastard.”) leads her to commit suicide in a much later scene. The second character to find herself pregnant is Mary, Rob’s wife, after a rape by Roth’s character (and at least one sex scene with her husband, Rob). Late in the movie, as Rob is leaving for a final confrontation with Roth, Mary asks what she should do about the pregnancy of questionable origins, with a tone hinting of abortion. Rob replies in a noble tone, “it’s not the fault of the child,” and then states what he thinks the name should be, girl or boy. I find this “pro-life” stance on the part of the hero to be very un-Hollywood. Rob walks from the darkness of the house to the bright outside to make this comment — not coincidental symbolism.

from “Not Free Will”:

One of the finest moments in the movie Rob Roy, is the scene where it is revealed to Rob Roy MacGregor that the infant his wife is carrying may indeed be the child of a hated enemy and his wife’s pregnancy the result of a vicious rape. Tearfully, she admits that her inability to abort the infant is only because there is no way to be certain which of the two men is the father. In response, MacGregor replies that it is not the fault of the child, and assures her that it makes no difference, it will be loved.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rob Roy

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

