Fools Rush In

37. Fools Rush In (1997) [Rated PG-13 for sensuality and brief language.]

summary from imdb.com:

After a one night stand with Isabel, Alex realizes that she is pregnant and they decide to get married. However, along with the marriage comes compromise of one’s own cultural traditions.

directed by: Andy Tennant

starring: Matthew Perry, Salma Hayek, Jon Tenney, Carlos Gomez, Siobhan Fallon

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
James Bowman

A Trailer

Abortion/Life Content:

Matthew Perry: So, how you been?

Salma Hayek: Pregnant.

Matthew: Really? Pregnant? Well, that’s great. Terrific. Congratulations.

Salma: Thank you. It’s yours.

Matthew: Mine? We were together one night.

Salma: That’s all it took.

Matthew: And I used a condom. Lots of them.

Salma: Well, one didn’t work.

Matthew: But, its job is to work! Its reason for being is to work!

Salma: Look… I’ve thought about this a lot. And there’s only one thing to do.

Matthew: Oh, thank God! I mean…I understand. And I respect your decision.

Salma: You do?

Matthew: Yes, I have always believed in a woman’s right to choose.

Salma: Good. Because I choose to keep this baby.

Matthew: Oh.

Salma: And I don’t want your money. I just thought that the honorable thing to do would be… to come here and tell you in person that I am pregnant. That I’m keeping this baby. And that it’s yours.

Matthew Perry: Don’t jump!

Salma Hayek: What are you doing here?

Matthew: Just Stay off the ledge, there!

Salma: I’m not going to kill myself, stupid! But if you come any closer I’ll throw your a## over!

Matthew: Hey, Wait a minute, wait a minute! You walked out on me at 5:00 in the morning. I never heard from you. And then months later you show up and say you’re pregnant, and I’m supposed to know exactly what to do? Well, I’m sorry, but I don’t know exactly what to do.

Salma: That’s the best thing you’ve said all night. […] My father’s going to kill me.

Matthew: He doesn’t know?

Salma: No. Nobody does. Except Lanie, my roommate. He can be very passionate about his only daughter.

Matthew: Isabel, what can I do?

Salma: I’ll deal with it.

Matthew: No. Really. I want to help.

Salma: Maybe one thing. Come meet them.

Matthew: Your family?

Salma: I want them to know you. Later, when they ask me who the father is, I can say: “You met him, remember? I brought him home once.”

Matthew: No problem. You just say when and we’ll go.

Salma: When.

Annie Combs: You’re just in time for the show.

Salma Hayek: You wanna watch? Come over here.

Matthew Perry: Is that going to hurt her?

Salma: Oh, no. It tickles.

Matthew: Whoa, Whoa, What is that?

Annie: That’s your baby’s heartbeat.

Matthew: It’s so fast.

Annie: It’s normal.

Salma: Neat, huh?

Matthew: yeah.

Annie: There’s the head. There’s a leg.

Matthew: Wait a minute. Is that his…?

Annie: Actually, I think that’s an arm. It’s too early to determine the baby’s sex. Okay, let’s take the first picture of your baby.

Matthew: I’m sorry.

Salma: Me too.

Matthew: I could hear its heartbeat going ” ba-doom-boom.”

Matthew Perry: Are you all right?

Salma Hayek: I’m all right.

Matthew: Is the baby okay?

Salma: There is no baby.

Matthew: What?

Salma: If I hadn’t been pregnant, I wouldn’t have gone to your house… and we wouldn’t have gotten married. The baby was the reason for us to be together.

Matthew: Not true.

Salma: I thought it was fate. But it was just a stupid, superstitious dream. There are no signs, Alex. And we’re too different and we will always be.

Matthew: So what are you saying?

Salma: I’m saying we’re not meant to be together.

Matthew: Don’t do this. Not now.

Salma: Alex, this is not going to work.

Matthew: Let me help you!

Salma: Get out, Alex. Get out! Get out!

Angelina Torres: How selfish you are. To presume you know better than love.

Salma Hayek: He never would have left if he knew I was still pregnant. He wanted to go. I let him off the hook.

Angelina: No. You let yourself off the hook. You denied your heart and lied to the man you love. Why?

Salma: Because I had to. If I didn’t leave him, he would have left me. And I really don’t think I could’ve handled that.

Angelina: You will never know love unless you surrender to it.

Matthew Perry: I love you. I love you so much it hurts. What’s going on with your stomach?!

Salma Hayek: Oh, Alex, just go home!

Matthew: You’re still pregnant! You’re still pregnant!

Salma: I know!

Matthew: How could you lie to me about that? How you could do that to me?

Salma: I was afraid. I tried to reach you, but I couldn’t, and… You lied to me, so I lied to you!

Matthew: I know, I know. But I was wrong and I’m sorry. But I’m here now. Don’t you know what this means? We’re gonna have a baby!

Salma: No. I’m gonna have a baby. You’re gonna call 911, okay?

Matthew: Why?

Salma: Because my water just broke.

Matthew: But we’re on a dam!

Christopher Michael: Excuse me. The ambulance is on its way. Should be here in about 10 minutes. Sir, is this your wife?

Matthew: Yes.

Salma: No.

Randy Sutton: Ma’am, do you think maybe we could move you over to the main building over there?

Christopher Michael: She’s not going anywhere. These contractions are right on top of each other.

Matthew: You hear that Isabel? The contractions are right on top of each other!

Salma: I’m not deaf, I’m in labour!

Matthew: We’re having a baby!

Salma: I hate you. I hate you! I hate you!

Christopher Michael: They always say that.

Matthew: You can do this. You’re the bravest person I’ve ever known.

Salma: [speaks in Spanish]

Randy Sutton: What’d she say?

Matthew: She said she loves me. Can’t live without me.

Christopher: Okay, folks. I hope you’ve got a name picked out because it looks like we’re gonna have this baby right here, right now. Let’s give her some air!

Matthew: The baby’s coming, but don’t worry. I’m right here.

Salma: Go away, Alex. You’re bad luck.

Matthew: I’m never leaving again.

Salma: Get away from me! Oh, baby, don’t go, please. I’m so sorry for everything. I need you so much.

Matthew: I love you. I love you. Ow! You’re breaking my hand! She’s breaking my hand!

Christopher: Okay, ma’am, the baby has crowned. Now I need you to start pushing.

Salma: There’s a blanket in my car for the baby.

MattheW: Isabel, just push… push!

Salma: Oh, please, say anything.

Matthew: I rode a mule.

Salma: No wonder you stink.

Matthew: Your great-grandmother kissed me.

Salma: You went to Aguascalientes?

Matthew: Yeah! Yeah!

Christopher: The head is out.

Matthew: Okay, breathe. This is it. This is it! Push! Push! Breathe! Breathe!

Christopher: Okay, Isabel, One more big push should do it. It’s a girl!

Matthew: It’s a beautiful girl! She’s so beautiful.

Salma: Oh, baby.

=========================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fools Rush In

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

