A Nightmare On Elm Street 5: The Dream Child

45. A Nightmare On Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989) [Rated R]

summary from imdb.com:

Alice, having survived the previous installment of the Nightmare series, finds the deadly dreams of Freddy Krueger starting once again. This time, the taunting murderer is striking through the sleeping mind of Alice’s unborn child. His intention is to be “born again” into the real world. The only one who can stop Freddy is his dead mother, but can Alice free her spirit in time to save her own son?

directed by: Stephen Hopkins

starring: Robert Englund, Marnette Patterson, Ted Nugent

Non-Conservative Reviews

A Trailer

Abortion/Life Content:

Lisa Wilcox: Oh, please don’t let him do this!

E.R. Davies: Don’t panic, Amanda. We have a breech birth here. It’s backward! We’re going to have to turn it around. Take a deep breath. I’m going to need you to push. Now push! […] What is it? Careful!

Roxanne Mayweather: Sister, this is one of God’s creatures. Take solace in that.

Beatrice Boepple: That is no creature of God! […]

Robert Englund: It’s a boy!

Beatrice Boepple: Your birth was a curse on the whole of humanity. I will not allow it to happen again. You brought me back to give you life, but now I must take yours.

Robert Englund: We’ll see, b####. We’ll just see.

Steven Grives: These sorts of outbursts aren’t entirely uncommon. Many women have them at the beginning. Especially if they’ve suffered a traumatic shock. Don’t worry, young lady. You’re gonna be fine.

Lisa Wilcox: What do you mean? What’s he talking about? What’s wrong with me?

Kelly Jo Minter: Nothing. You’re just a little pregnant.

Nicholas Mele: The doctor wants to keep you overnight.

Steven Grives: Just for routine observation… to make sure you’re as comfortable as possible.

Nicholas Mele: You’re gonna be fine, honey. Everything’s gonna be OK.

Lisa Wilcox: Amanda Krueger was part of a religious order that ran that asylum in the 1940s. She was raped by the lunatics and had the baby there. That baby grew up to be Freddy Krueger who murdered twenty or thirty kids right here on Elm Street. He got caught… but the courts cut him loose on a technicality. So, the parents of the murdered kids got together and killed him. Torched him. But that was just the beginning. He keeps on killing… but he kills people in their dreams… their nightmares. He uses my dreams to bring him his victims. It’s my fault that Dan’s dead.

Kelly Jo Minter: Stop saying that. That’s bulls###.

Erika Anderson: Let’s talk about the baby.

Joe Seely: Yeah, congratulations. I guess.

Lisa Wilcox: When did you become such a smart shopper?

Nicholas Mele: Ever since my little girl became a mom.

Lisa: You disappointed in me?

Nicholas: No, I’m not. I sort of hope it’s a boy. It’d be nice to hear a boy playing in the house again. Just don’t make a habit of it.

Lisa Wilcox: Is this where you live, Jacob?

Whit Hertford: Just waiting for someone. It’s sad about Greta.

Lisa: Is that who you’re waiting for? I don’t think this is a very nice place for you to be. Maybe we should go look for your mom.

Whit Hertford: She doesn’t want me around.

Lisa: Oh, I’m sure that’s not true. I’ll bet she’s very worried about you. I would be.

Whit Hertford: No, you’re not! You don’t even care about being a mom. How come you don’t think about me?

Lisa: Who said I… What?

Whit Hertford: I like you. I want to stay with you. How come you don’t like me?

Lisa: Who said I don’t like you?

Whit Hertford: My friend with the funny hand.

Lisa: Come on, honey. We’re gonna get out of here.

Whit Hertford: No, I have to go now. He’s calling me.

Lisa Wilcox: He’s doing something to my baby. I know it. He’s trying to hurt Jacob.

Joe Seely: Who’s Jacob?

Lisa Wilcox: My baby.

Joe Seely: What, you named him already?

Lisa Wilcox: I guess so. I got to get away from here. Someplace where Krueger can’t find him.

Kelly Jo Minter: You had me scared on the phone. What’s wrong with the baby?

Lisa Wilcox: I think Krueger’s trying to do something to him.

Kelly Jo Minter: Alice! Honey, no. I love you, but you’re gonna have to get ahold of yourself.

Lisa Wilcox: Mark knows I’m not crazy. Ask him to show you his hands.

Kelly Jo Minter: I think you just need to calm down, OK?

Lisa Wilcox: I can’t figure out how he’s getting in when I’m awake. Do unborn babies dream?

Kelly Jo Minter: They do. But do us both a favor. Don’t mention any of this to Dr. Moore. […]

Lisa Wilcox: Dr. Moore, do unborn babies dream?

Steven Grives: As the fetus develops… it can spend up to seventy percent of its day in a dream state. More as it matures.

Lisa Wilcox: Will I be able to sense them?

Steven Grives: Is that why you’re here? To see if your baby’s having nightmares?

Lisa Wilcox: We’re here to find out everything we can, aren’t we?

Steven Grives: Frankly, I have found nothing about you that would indicate the necessity of ultrasound at this stage of your pregnancy.

Lisa Wilcox: I just want to make sure my baby’s all right.

Steven Grives: Well, the heart seems strong. Let’s hear it.

Kelly Jo Minter: There’s your baby.

Steven Grives: Get her file.

Robert Englund: See any family resemblance? Feeding time. Soul food for my boy.

Lisa Wilcox: Don’t touch him! What’s he doing to my baby?

Steven Grives: Please, young lady, try to keep calm. Your baby is perfectly healthy. A little large for so early on… but as normal as I’ve ever seen.

Lisa Wilcox: He’s taking their souls, their spirits… and making the baby like him.

Kelly Jo Minter: Alice, stop and listen to yourself. Do you know what you sound like?

Lisa Wilcox: Completely insane, but I’m not. And if you’re my friend, you would believe me a little.

Kelly Jo Minter: I am your friend, and I’m worried sick about you. It’s time to leave the Twilight Zone and face reality.

Lisa Wilcox: Krueger is reality.

Kelly Jo Minter: so is your baby. You got more to think about than yourself.

Lisa Wilcox: What do you think I’m doing? Look… whether you believe it or not, Krueger is back. He’s after my baby… and if I don’t try to do something about it, who will?

Kelly Jo Minter: All I know is you’re not doing you or your baby any good… by acting like a crazy woman. Why don’t you take off? Leave Springwood. Cool off for a while.

Lisa Wilcox: ####### it, you don’t run away from this guy! He finds you in your dreams!

Lisa Wilcox: I know what’s happening. Krueger’s using Jacob’s dreams. We gotta stop him.

Joe Seely: Well, there is… one way. Have you thought about not having the baby? I mean, no baby… no baby’s dreams.

Lisa Wilcox: No, I can’t do that. I saw him inside of me, growing. He’s part of me and Dan. I want to keep him.

Joe Seely: OK, then we’ll find another way.

Nicholas Mele: Alice, can you come down a minute?

Valorie Armstrong: Mr. Jordan and I wanted to see how you’re feeling. Well, come sit down.

Nicholas Mele: This really isn’t a good time. Maybe you could come back.

Valorie Armstrong: Frankly, we wondered what you intend to do with your baby.

Lisa Wilcox: What I what? Well, I’ve thought about it, and I plan to keep him.

Burr DeBenning: We were concerned that all this… might be a little bit too much for you. I mean, being single and everything.

Valorie Armstrong: What Mr. Jordan means is that we’re aware of the burden… that raising a child would place on you. We want to help. We want to adopt it and raise it as though it were our own.

Lisa wilcox: Look, I appreciate what you’re offering… but, no. He’s my responsibility.

Valorie Armstrong: And ours. It’s our grandchild.

Burr DeBenning: Now, Doris, maybe this wasn’t such a good idea.

Valorie Armstrong: Alice, we’re worried that in your present condition… that you don’t have the ability… to take care of a child.

Lisa Wilcox: What are you talking about, “my condition”?

Burr DeBenning: We got a call from Dr. Moore. He said that Alice was hysterical… and that she was having paranoid delusions.

Lisa Wilcox: You don’t understand.

Valorie Armstrong: We know you’ve been through a lot… but there is more at stake here than just your feelings.

Lisa Wilcox: You’re not taking my baby.

Valorie Armstrong: Well, the courts might not agree with you.

Nicholas Mele: But I do. I’ve heard enough of this crap. You think you can just walk into my house… and threaten my daughter?

Valorie Armstrong: Oh please, we have a legitimate claim to it.

Lisa Wilcox: He’s not a thing. He’s part of me… and I’m not giving him to you or anyone else!

[scene change]

Lisa Wilcox: They think I’m nuts.

Joe Seely: That’s their problem.

Lisa wilcox: No, it’s our problem, Mark. If I don’t deal with this… they really might try to take Jacob.

Kelly Jo Minter: Hi, honey.

Lisa Wilcox: Sweet dreams, Jacob Daniel.

Kelly Jo Minter: Hey, sugar.

Nicholas Mele: How’s my little grandson, huh?

Kelly Jo Minter: Look.

Nicholas Mele: Hungry?

Lisa Wilcox: Mm-hmm. We all are.

Kelly Jo Minter: Hey, sweetie.

=======================================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Nightmare On Elm Street 5: The Dream Child

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

  2. Ray Crowe says:

    Most fans hate Part 5, but I think it’s just as entertaining and stylish as Part 4. Freddy was no longer all that scary by this point, so Part 5 plays with the concept a bit and pokes a little fun without going overboard, and there is a queasy creepiness to the elaborate death scenes. It also brings back Alice from Part 4, which is good.

Leave a Reply

