Parenthood

46. Parenthood (1989) [Rated PG-13]

summary from imdb.com:

The Buckman family is a midwestern family all dealing with their lives: estranged relatives, raising children, pressures of the job, and learning to be a good parent and spouse.

directed by: Ron Howard

starring: Steve Martin, Mary Steenburgen, Dianne Wiest, Jason Robards, Rick Moranis, Tom Hulce, Martha Plimpton, Keanu Reeves, Harley Jane Kozak, Joaquin Phoenix, Clint Howard

Non-Conservative Reviews

A Trailer

Abortion/Life Content:

Lowell Ganz: So, Gilly, big baseball fan?

Max Elliott Slade: Kind of.

Lowell: Dad bring you here a lot?

Max: Once a year on my birthday. Then he pays an usher to watch me.

Lowell: Oh, I see.

Max: You have to understand, my father in his own childhood was without a positive male influence.

Lowell: Huh?

Max: His own father kicked him out when he was …so my dad was taught to see child raising as a burden… a prison rather than a playground. You understand what i’m saying?

Lowell: You don’t talk like a kid.

Max: Well, I’m not really a kid.

Lowell: You´re not a duck.

Max: I’m remembering when I was a kid. I’m 35 now. I have kids of my own. You don´t really even exist. You’re an amalgam.

Lowell: A what?

Max: A combination of several ushers my dad left me with over the years. I combined them into one memory.

Lowell: Why?

Max: This was a great symbolic moment in my life. My father dumping me with you. It´s why I swore things would be different with my kids. It’s my dream… strong, happy, confident kids.

Lowell: That´s great. You´ve got a lovely family, and l´m a g###### amalgam!

Paul Keeley during a fantasy sequence: When I was nine years old, I had kind of a rough time. A lot of people thought I was pretty mixed up. But there was one person who got me through it. He did everything right. And thanks to him, today… I’m the happiest, most confident, and most well-adjusted person in this world. Dad, I love you. You´re the greatest.

Harley Jane Kozak: Why are you pouring water through my diaphragm?

Rick Moranis: To check. To see if it´s okay. You didn´t know l did that, huh? Obviously not, or you wouldn´t have tried this.

Harley: Are you accusing me of making that hole?

Rick: No, a woodpecker came in here, went into the bathroom… opened the drawer with his wing and pecked holes in your diaphragm. I can´t believe you would jeopardize our plan. Remember what we read? A majority of exceptional people are either only children or firstborns with five years between sibs. We agreed…

Harley: No, you agreed. And they´re not sibs. They´re babies, and l want another one.

Rick: So this is how you go about it? By vandalizing your contraception?

Harley: Because you won´t discuss it!

Rick: We discussed this years ago!

Harley: I think we were wrong.

Rick: I think we were right, and I´m not discussing it again.

Joaquin Phoenix: What is it with the women in this family? They make all the men in this family wanna leave!

Martha Plimpton: Well if he thinks I´m having this baby now, he´s crazy.

Dianne Wiest: Baby?

Paul Linke: Your daughter´s having a baby?

Dianne: A baby?

Paul: You´re gonna be a grandma?

Dianne: I’m too young. Grandmothers are old. They bake, and they sew and they tell you stories about the Depression. I was at Woodstock, for ###### sake! I peed in a field! I´ve hung onto the Who´s helicopter as it flew away.

Paul: I was at Woodstock.

Dianne: Oh, yeah? I thought you looked familiar.

Steve Martin: I quit my job.

Mary Steenburgen: Why?

Steve: They gave the partnership to Phil Richards. This is a guy who leaves his wife and kids… then puts his money in his girlfriend´s name to get out of paying child support. I mean, the guy is… Anyway, I couldn´t stand it. I snapped.

Mary: Can you still change your mind?

Steve: What do you mean, change my mind? I quit.

Mary: Did you say anything that would make it difficult for them to take you back?

Steve: […] I was hoping you´d be a little more supportive.

Mary: I’m pregnant.

Steve: Since when?

Mary: Since I am. I’m due in February. I didn´t want to say anything until I was sure.

Steve: How did this happen?

Mary: It was an accident. Anyhow, this is why I´m saying maybe… now this isn´t the best time for you to be out of work or starting a new job.

Steve: If you´d told me there was a chance of this happening, I might not have quit.

Mary: You never told me there was a chance you might quit.

Steve: It was a spur-of-the-moment decision.

Mary: Pretty big one.

Steve: Are you saying I should crawl back, kiss Dave´s feet and get my crappy job back? I quit. If I go back now, they´ve got me. I´m a eunuch.

Mary: This puts a minor crimp in my life too. I was thinking about starting back to work in the fall. Now I can´t.

Steve: That´s the difference between men and women. Women have choices. Men have responsibilities.

Mary: Oh, really? Okay, well, then, I choose for you to have the baby. That´s my choice. You have the baby. You get fat. You breast-feed until your nipples are sore. I´ll go back to work.

Steve: Let´s return from la-la land, because that ain´t gonna happen. Whether I crawl back to Dave or get another job… it´s obvious now I´m gonna have to spend less time at home. I’m gonna have to have business dinners. I’m gonna have to play racquetball. I’m gonna have to get guys ####. I hope you don´t mind if l bring home a few prostitutes… because that´s what it takes to get anywhere, and l´m not getting anywhere. Whatever happens, you have to count on less help from me.

Mary: Why don´t you just say what you´re really thinking?

Steve: What am I thinking?

Mary: That I should have an abortion?

Steve: I didn´t say that. That´s a decision every woman has to make on her own.

Mary: Are you running for Congress? Don´t give me that. I want your opinion about what we should do. Let´s pretend it´s your decision, okay? Pretend you´re a caveman or your father. What do you want me to do?

Steve: I want… I want whatever you want.

Mary: I wanna have the baby.

Steve: Well, great! Let´s have it then. Let´s see how l can screw the fourth one up. Let´s have five. Let´s have six! Let´s have a dozen and pretend they´re doughnuts. I´m really happy about the way things are turning out, aren´t you?

Mary: With your frame of mind, not only am I not sure we should have another baby… I´m not sure we should keep the three we´ve got.

Steve: I´m ready to discuss it. However, I can´t right now. I gotta go to the ####### Little League. Ten little boys are waiting for me to guide them into last place.

Mary: You really have to go?

Steve: My whole life is “have to.”

Steve Martin: I was still high from the Little League game. Isn´t that demented? That a grown man´s happiness… depends on whether a nine-year-old catches a pop-up? What if he missed?

Mary Steenburgen: But he didn´t.

Steve: But he could have.

Mary: But he didn’t.

Steve: But he could have.

Mary: But he didn´t, Gil. You threw him twelve million pop-ups in the backyard. You cut the odds considerably. If you hadn´t… ow! ow!

Steve: But there´s three of them, and you want to have four. And the fourth one could be Larry. And they´re gonna do a lot of things. Baseball´s the least of it. And in all those things, sometimes they´re gonna miss.

Mary: Sometimes they won´t.

Steve: Sometimes they will.

Mary: What do you want me to give you? Guarantees? These are kids, not appliances. Life is messy.

Steve: I hate messy. It´s so messy!

Helen Shaw: You know, when I was 19, Grandpa took me on a roller coaster. Up, down, up, down. Oh, what a ride.

Steve: What a great story.

Helen: I always wanted to go again. It was just interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened… so scared, so sick, so excited… and so thrilled all together. Some didn´t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it. Well, I’ll be seeing you in the car.

Mary: She´s a very smart lady.

Emil Felski and Charmin Talbert: That´s great! You´re doin´ great. One more push, and the baby will be here. Bear down. Push. We´re almost there, Mom. Come on. Push. That´s it. Great. You´re doin´ great. You´re doin´ fine. Here we go now. I can see the head. Push. Here comes the baby. Good. Here it is. It´s a girl! Good! Congratulations, Mom.

=========================================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Parenthood

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

  2. Jay Rogers says:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098067/fullcredits

    Emil Fleski is an Orlando area area abortionist who has worked for James Pendergraft and (I think) Gary Dresden, who own two chains of at least 12 abortion clinics in Florida and elsewhere.

    Emil Felski is also the name of a character in Steve Martin’s 1989 movie, Parenthood. Is that too odd to be a coincidence. It’s a Ron Howard film, so I wonder.

    The bizarre part about the film is that the couple at first considers having an abortion, but decides to keep the baby. The doctor who delivers the baby is Emil Felski.

    Emil Felski and Charmin Talbert: That´s great! You´re doin´ great. One more push, and the baby will be here. Bear down. Push. We´re almost there, Mom. Come on. Push. That´s it. Great. You´re doin´ great. You´re doin´ fine. Here we go now. I can see the head. Push. Here comes the baby. Good. Here it is. It´s a girl! Good! Congratulations, Mom.

    This is the second time I’ve discovered art imitating abortionists.

    Malcolm Wells Jones, who also works for Gary Dresden could be subject of a fictional novel.

    Cry for the Shadows by Phil Harris

    Synopsis: Do you believe in the power of prayer? If thousands of believers from around the world asked God to change one man’s heart, what do you think might happen? Rebecca Hallsey, the director of a crisis pregnancy center, meets Dr. Malcolm Jones, a long-time abortion provider. She senses there may be hope for him, and sets the prayer machinery in motion. Malcolm endures horrifying dreams and is haunted by odd children who are strangely familiar.

    A teenage couple deals with the consequences of a single lapse in judgment. A college student is raped and then finds out that her worst nightmare has come true. A single, middle-aged career woman learns that a short-term solution can begin a lifetime of heartache and regret. Intense fear and uncertainty are replaced by peace and understanding. Feelings of hate and self-condemnation are transformed by the loving Grace of God. Sara, Jeff, Sheila, Martha, Malcolm, Rebecca, Father John, and Pastor Pete are all waiting inside, ready to take you on a short journey through one of life’s most basic realities.

    Now the really odd thing about this is that I emailed the author and he messaged me back saying that he researched the name very carefully to make sure it was NOT the name of any abortionist in order to avoid lawsuits. The strange part about that answer is that it is a Christian novel and the author lives in Tampa.

    Gary Dresden is both and author and a film maker. I sense a conspiracy. What do you think?

  3. Jay Rogers says:

    Here is an even more bizarre story concerning a woman who worked in Felski’s office who was brutally murdered:

    http://www.wesh.com/news/15893147/detail.html

    (There is a GREAT shot of Felski here that I can grab. The murderer in the story asks for the death penalty and Felski says: “He wants to have the death penalty. We agree with his choice.”)

    I am surprised that no one in the pro-life media picked up on this.

    What do you think? It is a twisted world.

Leave a Reply

