All Or Nothing

47. All Or Nothing (2002) [Rated R for pervasive language and some sexuality.]

summary from imdb.com:

Penny’s love for her partner, taxi-driver Phil, has run dry. He is a gentle, philosophical guy, and she works on the checkout at a supermarket. Their daughter Rachel cleans in a home for elderly people, and their son Rory is unemployed and aggressive. The joy has gone out of Phil’s and Penny’s life, but when an unexpected tragedy occurs, they are brought together to rediscover their love. All or Nothing is set on a London working-class housing estate over a long weekend, and also tells the stories of a range of Phil and Penny’s neighbors, some of whom become involved in the family’s lives, and all of whom experience an emotional journey.

written/directed by: Mike Leigh

starring: Timothy Spall, Lesley Manville, Ruth Sheen, Sally Hawkins, Daniel Mays, Alex Kelly

A Trailer

Non-Conservative Reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Helen Coker: I want to talk to you.

Daniel Mays: What do you want to talk about? I don’t want to talk. I wanna shag!

Helen: Well I do want to talk! I want to tell you something.

Daniel: And what do you want to tell me, for ####’s sake?

Helen: I’m pregnant.

Daniel: What? Say that again?

Helen: I’m pregnant.

Daniel: No, you ain’t pregnant. You’re on the pill.

Helen: I know I’m on the pill, but I’m having a baby.

Daniel: ########.

Helen: It’s yours.

Daniel: No. You’re having a ####ing laugh.

Helen: It’s not very funny, is it?

Daniel: How do you know?

Helen: What, How do I know I’m pregnant?

Daniel: Yeah, how do you know you’re pregnant?

Helen: I went up the doctor’s.

Daniel: When?

Helen: Two weeks ago.

Daniel: Two weeks? You’ve ####ing known for two weeks… and you didn’t bother to tell me?

Helen: I haven’t seen you for two weeks, have I?

Daniel: ########! You seen me on Thursday!

Helen: And when I do, you’re always shouting at me!

Daniel: ####ing hell, Donna! Oh for ##### sake.

Daniel Mays: I’ll bet you stopped taking the pill on purpose, din’t’ya?

Helen Coker: Of course I never.

Daniel: That’s exactly what you’d do, Donna, just to ####ing keep me.

Helen: Oh, you think so, do ya?

Daniel: Swear on your mum’s grave!

Helen: She ain’t dead yet.

Daniel: I mean it, right? If I ever found out you did that to me… I’ll ####ing kill you, you ####!

Helen: Go on, then. Kill me!

Daniel: Oh, ####. Listen to me, right? This doesn’t have to be a big thing.

Helen: It is a big thing.

Daniel: No, it ain’t, Donna. This happens all the time to people. All you’ve gotta do is get rid of it, yeah? I ain’t gonna be a wanker. I’ll give you a bit of money… and I’ll even come along and sort it with you.

Helen: That’s nice of you, innit.

Daniel: It’s done and dusted, then, Donna.

Helen: Just like that.

Daniel: Simple.

Helen: Simple.

Daniel: I mean it, right? If you keep it, I’m ####ing walking. You want to stay with me, you ####ing get rid of it, right?

Helen: And that’s it, is it?

Daniel: What do you want to have a kid for? How are you gonna feed it? How are you gonna support it? I don’t want to be a dad, Donna. I ain’t up to it! I don’t even want to be with you!

Helen: #### off!

Daniel: Yeah. I been thinking about it for a couple of months now… thinking about chucking it all in. All we ever do is ####ing argue, innit? Isn’t that the truth? It’s doing my ####ing head in. You know when I went up to Newcastle… with Cookie and the boys? We was in a club. I pulled the best little bit of ##### ever in the toilet.

Helen: #### off!

Daniel: Don’t you dare! She had a lovely pair of ####, tight ###… and I’ll tell you what, she gave me… the best ####ing #### ### I’ve ever had in my life… ten times better than you could ever give it. Are you gonna start crying now, are you?

Helen: I’m not crying.

Daniel: No. Go on. Cry. Let’s see you well up.

Helen: #### off!

Daniel: I mean it, Donna, you lumber me with a kid, I’ll make your life ####!

Helen: You already do!

Daniel: I’ll bury you, you ####! ####in’ mug!

Ruth Sheen: I don’t think you should see him no more. He’s trouble.

Helen Coker: Ain’t as easy as that.

Ruth: What’s that supposed to mean?

Helen: Nothing. Anyway, leave me alone. I can deal with it meself.

Ruth: You ain’t pregnant, are you? Oh, Donna… I thought you was on the pill.

Helen: I am on the pill.

Ruth: Don’t you take it no more?

Helen: Yeah.

Ruth: What? Weekends only? Been to the doctor’s?

Helen: Yeah.

Ruth: How far gone are ya?

Helen: Two months.

Ruth: Two months. You tell him you’re pregnant, so he hit you.

Helen: It weren’t like that.

Ruth: No? Well what was it like then?

Helen: Dunno.

Ruth: I thought you had more sense.

Helen: #### off!

Ruth: Don’t get the hump, you silly cow. Does your face hurt?

Helen: Yeah.

Ruth: I’ll make you a cup of tea.

Ruth Sheen: What do you want?

Daniel Mays: Is Donna there, please?

Ruth: No, she ain’t.

Daniel: I know she’s ####ing there!

Helen Coker: I’ll sort it out!

Daniel: All right, So what’s going on?

Ruth: If you ever touch my door again, I’ll phone the police.

Daniel: #### off!

Ruth: Who you talking to?

Daniel: Yeah, well, I ain’t talking to you!

Helen: Leave it, Mum!

Ruth: No, I bleedin’ won’t!

Daniel: Well, just keep out of it, right? Cause it’s got #### all to do with you!

Ruth: Ain’t it? Look what you’ve done to her face.

Daniel: She’s ####ing asking for it, ain’t she?

Ruth: You coward!

Daniel: #### off! She’s coming round my house, right… threatening to tell me mum something.

Ruth: Tell your mum, what? that she’s pregnant?

Daniel: What? What did you tell her for, eh?

Helen: ‘Cause she’s me mum!

Ruth Sheen: How are you feeling?

Helen Coker: All right.

Ruth: You’re better off without him, you know.

Helen: I know.

Ruth: #######. Gonna keep the baby?

Helen: Dunno.

Ruth: You wanna have an abortion?

Helen: No.

Ruth: You want something to eat? You’re eatin’ for two now, ya know?

Helen: Shut up.

Ruth: I’ll make you two chips.

Helen: Ho ho.

Ruth: Suit yourself. When’s your first hospital appointment?

Helen: I dunno.

Ruth: You want me to come with you?

Helen: If you want.

Ruth: No fun going on your own. I know.

==============================================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All Or Nothing

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

