Cabaret

57. Cabaret (1972) [Rated PG]

summary from imdb.com:

A female girlie club entertainer in Weimar Republic era Berlin romances two men while the Nazi Party rises to power around them.

directed by: Bob Fosse

starring: Liza Minnelli, Michael York, Joel Grey

A Trailer

reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Liza Minnelli: G#########, I’m gonna have a baby! Well, aren’t you gonna ask?

Michael York: All right. Whose is it?

Liza: I don’t know. I really don’t know.

Michael: What are you going to do?

Liza: Obviously, I can’t have it. The doctor I went to said he’ll do it. But it’s expensive. He has to… bribe somebody or other for some kind of… a certificate or something. Oh, I don’t know. Well… there goes my fur coat. […] I guess babies love you automatically, don’t they?

Michael: They don’t have much of a choice.

Liza: To you and the baby.

Michael: To me and the baby.

Liza: Probably is yours. But I don’t suppose we’ll ever know for sure.

Michael: So what?

Liza: You sure you don’t mind? Honestly?

Michael: Honestly.

Liza: Oh, Bri….

Michael: To me and the baby.

Liza: To you and the baby.

Liza: To you. You.

Michael: Me? To me.

both: And the baby.

Liza: Oh, where are you going?

Michael: l’ll be right back.

Liza: You are a most strange and extraordinary person.

Michael: I know, I know. The proud father.

Liza Minnelli: Will you still love me when I’m blown up like a balloon? Will my body drive you wild with desire?

Michael York: Sure. Why not?

Liza: Oh, Bri, it’s fantastic, isn’t it? Just think: Your life and my life… solved in one fell swoop. And all by the baby! I guess it’s just about the most significant baby the world has ever known… since Jesus. It’ll be a most strange and extraordinary baby, won’t it?

Michael York: Where’s your fur coat? You did it, didn’t you?

Liza Minnelli: Did what, darling?

Michael: The abortion. In God’s name… why?

Liza: One of my whims?

Michael: Is that all you can say? “One of my whims?” What right…?

Liza: If you wanna hit me, why don’t you just hit me?

Michael: But you wanted it. Didn’t you? Me and the baby. I suppose Max Reinhardt did show up at the club. Or was it a friend of a friend of a friend of… an assistant director who said he’d try to squeeze you into the chorus line? That is, of course, if you… if you went to bed with him.

Liza: You think that?

Michael: Yes.

Liza: Well then, it’s just as well, isn’t it? For you, for everyone. And, darling, would you be an angel and just let me get some sleep?

Michael: Tell me why you did it.

Liza: What is there to say? You’ve said it all in one way or another.

Michael: Sally, please. I have to know.

Liza: Okay. I’m self-centered, inconsiderate… and what was the third adjective? Oh, yes. And I have this infantile fantasy… that one day I’ll amount to something as an actress. A dinky little cottage in Cambridge? A playpen in the bedroom, diapers on the towel rack… How soon would it be before we started hating each other? How soon would it be before I started dashing out… disgracing myself at some nearest pub? And how soon would it be before…?

Michael: Before? Say it. Go on! You might as well, now.

Liza: Forget it. Just forget it.

Michael: I see.

=====================================

from wikipedia:

Later on, Sally finds out that she’s pregnant and is unsure whether Brian or Max is the father. Brian offers to marry her and take her back to his university life in Cambridge, but Sally realizes they could never coexist in such a life and proceeds with a planned abortion. When Brian confronts her, she shares her fears and the two reach an understanding.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cabaret

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

