The Last Kiss

65. The Last Kiss (2006) [Rated R for sexuality, nudity and language.]

summary from imdb.com:

Michael and Jenna, having been a couple for three years, want to get married and start a family. These plans seem to be well on their way when Jenna announces that she’s pregnant. But Michael is worried that his life and his youth will over for good. At a wedding of a friend, he meets a free-spirited college co-ed, Kim, who opens his eyes and leads him on a dangerous path away from Jenna. Meanwhile, none of the relationships of the people surrounding Michael and Jenna are happy and stable. Michael’s friend Izzy is unwilling to let go of his childhood sweetheart Arianna; Kenny is a handsome stud who fears commitment to his latest conquest Danielle; and Chris is a co-worker who is dominated by his neurotic and overbearing wife over raising their newborn son. Even Jenna’s parents, Stephen and Anna, are experiencing problems in their long-suffering marriage.

directed by: Tony Goldwyn

starring: Zach Braff, Jacinda Barrett, Casey Affleck, Rachel Bilson, Michael Weston, Eric Christian Olsen, Marley Shelton, Harold Ramis, Blythe Danner, Tom Wilkinson

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
Peter Suderman
The GW Patriot
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Jacinda Barrett: We have something to tell you.

Blythe Danner: You’re getting…

Jacinda: A baby.

Blythe: A baby?

Jacinda: Yes.

Tom Wilkinson: Oh, my ###! How did you do that?

Zach Braff: Well…

Jacinda: I’m 10 weeks.

Blythe: You are 10… Oh, my… Fabulous!

Cindy Sampson: It’s true. Every single one of my friends are married. It’s like they’re all in a cult, and completely obsessed with me joining. They’re like, “If you don’t get married soon, you’ll be too old to have a baby.” Guess what? I don’t want to have a baby. I certainly don’t think I should be bullied into it just because I have a vagina.

Casey Affleck: I think I’m going to leave my wife.

Zach Braff: So, have you told her yet?

Casey: No, not yet. I don’t know how I’m going to do that, but… I just know that I’m tired of being told how much I suck. Oh, man. I thought if I had a kid with her, it would bring us closer together. Not make us want to kill each other. I’m trapped, Mike. I’m ####ing trapped.

Jacinda Barrett: I called the office. They said you weren’t there.

Zach Braff: I’m just on my way home. Why? What’s going on?

Jacinda: We have a sonogram. Did you forget?

Zach: Oh, my ###. Jenna, I totally did. I’m sorry. When?

Jacinda: 5:45. Get here soon. We can still make it.

Zach Braff: Jenna, we’re having a baby.

Jacinda Barrett: No. No, I am the one having this baby. I’m the pregnant one, not you. And she’s better off with no father than a lying ####### like you!

Zach: You’re overreacting. It was a couple kisses. After three years, Jenna, things happen.

Jacinda: Not to me, they don’t! Get out!

Zach Braff: Jenna, you’re having our baby!

Jacinda Barrett: Yeah, well, maybe I won’t keep it!

Zach: Don’t you ever say that, Jenna. Don’t ever say anything like that ever again!

Jacinda: I can do whatever the hell I want. We’re not married, remember? We’re both free, just like you wanted.

======================================

from screenit.com:

Some viewers might not like it when Jenna (most likely bluffing) says that maybe she won’t keep the baby (meaning an abortion) after learning Michael has cheated on her.

“Hollywood Wants to Stay Home” by Megan Basham:

Even fresh-faced up-and-coming star Rachel Bilson, who has yet to start a family, is saying that the long-besmirched label “housewife” may be in her future. The star of movies like Jumper, Last Kiss, and New York, I Love You told a reporter, “I’ve always been maternal. I want to travel and enjoy myself first, but I really want a family. I love the career I have chosen. But I’d be quite happy as a housewife, at home with the kids. I think I’d be really content.”

Of course, this could just be another one of those things that actresses say without really meaning to grab headlines, but it’s hard to imagine A-list stars being comfortable expressing such sentiments in the 80s or even 90s when feminist political correctness reigned supreme. More likely, they are being influenced by the opinions of regular moms. Polling shows the vast majority of moms–80 percent–now say they don’t want to work full time, a big increase from the previous two decades. And the opt-out trend is proving that women are far less apologetic about making wife and mother their primary titles.

So for once it looks like Hollywood may be following the trend rather than setting it.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Kiss

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

