The Anniversary Party

71. The Anniversary Party (2001) [Rated R for language, drug use and nudity.]

summary from imdb.com:

Celebrity couple Joe and Sally Therrian are going through yet another rough stage in their six-year marriage: while Joe’s novels have been climbing higher and higher on the best-seller lists, Sally’s film career has been steadily sinking into oblivion. Joe’s been given the rights to cast and direct the screenplay of his latest book, but rather than resurrect Sally’s career by casting her in the lead role, he’s given it to Sally’s rival, Skye Davidson. Even worse, he’s invited Skye to their anniversary bash. Will the marriage, or anything else for that matter, survive the party?

directed by: Alan Cumming and Jennifer Jason Leigh

starring: Alan Cumming, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Parker Posey, Phoebe Cates, Kevin Kline, Jane Adams, John C. Reilly, Jennifer Beals, Matt Malloy, Mary Lynn Rajskub, Gwyneth Paltrow

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Alan Cumming: Don’t push me away

Jennifer Jason Leigh: I had an abortion two weeks ago. I found out I was pregnant and it just scared the #### out of me.

Alan: Don’t do this, Sally.

Jennifer: I told you when we met I never wanted children. I don’t want kids in my life!! I told you!! We talked about it!! You weren’t listening!

Alan: You changed your mind, Sally.

Jennifer: No, I wanted you back.

[Alan slaps Jennifer across face]

Jennifer: You think this was to hurt you?! It’s not about you!!!

Alan: What?! You aborted our child!! That’s about me!!

Jennifer: Exactly, I’m a monster, okay? I’m a ####ing monster.

Alan: No, Sally. You’re just not ready. You’re just not ready. You’re just not ready yet, okay?

Jennifer: Don’t make allowances. I will never… I will never be ready. There are some people that just shouldn’t have kids. I would be a terrible ####ing mother, Joe. I did want it for us. I did, but I couldn’t do it. I just… I don’t think I can do it, Joe. I don’t think I can do it.

Alan: I wasn’t part of that decision at all, was I? I mean, I wasn’t part of the picture, right? Did I ever occur to you? This is a ####ing disgrace. You are a ####ing disgrace!

Jennifer: I know.

Alan: Do you have any idea what you’ve done to us, Sally? Do you? Do you?!!

Jennifer: Yes!

Alan: I will… I will never forgive you for as long as I live… I will never forgive you for this.

Jennifer: I know.

Alan: I don’t even know who you are anymore.

Jennifer: Joe. Joe. Joe. Joe.

======================================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Anniversary Party

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

