Hidden Secrets

76. Hidden Secrets (2006) [Not Rated]

summary from imdb.com:

A young man finds himself torn between his current girlfriend and an old flame at a funeral of friend where lifestyles and attitudes clash over a long weekend in this faith-based dramedy.

directed by: Carey Scott

starring: David A.R. White, John Schneider, Staci Keanen, Corin Nemec, Reginald VelJohnson, Rachael Lampa, Brad Heller, Carey Scott, Tracy Melchior, Gregg Binkley, Autumn Paul, Sean Sedgwick

A Trailer

Order the dvd at the official site

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Autumn Paul: Weren’t you Chris’ boss? I never really understood what happened there. Did he quit? Or did he get fired?

John Schneider: No, Chris left. It was amicable, though. I got a contract for stem-cell research.

Autumn: embryonic stem cell?

John: Y’know, I really kinda hate that word. It’s so impersonal. I prefer to refer to them as little experimental babies. Excuse me, Rhonda.

Autumn: Do you have any idea how much that offends God? An embryo is a human being from the moment of its conception.

John: Actually, Rhonda, there’s several schools of thought on that issue. For example, in my family, we don’t actually consider an embryo a human being until he graduates from law school. Is it something I said? Christians. Where are the lions when you need them?

Autumn: Sherry, you cannot let that man, Gary, stay here.

Tracy Melchior: Why?

Autumn: He does stem cell research. He’s no better than an abortionist.

Tracy: Rhonda, he was one of my brother’s best friends.

Autumn: He’s a murderer. Look the Bible says, “They have filled this place with the blood of the innocent.” Do you want God’s judgment to come down on you and your house on his account?

Tracy: Rhonda, I just put my brother in the ground. Do you think we could talk about this later?

John Schneider: You know, I kind of wish you’d let me order something before you demeaned her faith.

Autumn Paul: And what do you know about faith?

John: Well, that it should be upbeat and life-affirming.

Autumn: Oh, so suddenly you’re pro-life?

Corin Nemec: You walked right into that one.

Autumn: Look, faith is upbeat and life-affirming if you have it. And if you don’t have it, you’re gonna end up in hell, and there’s nothing upbeat or life-affirming about hell.

John: Well, then fortunately for us, we all have you to give us a taste of it.

Corin Nemec: What happened?

Tracy Melchior: He still loves me. He wants to marry me.

Corin: Isn’t that what you wanted?

Tracy: I don’t deserve him.

Corin: Maybe God thinks otherwise.

Tracy: I think I’m under God’s judgment.

Corin: No, you’re not.

Tracy: I feel like He’s taking everyone that I love away from me to punish me. First my parents and now Chris.

Corin: Why on earth would God want to punish you?

Tracy: I murdered my own baby. I’ve never told anyone that. I had an abortion.

Corin: And why’d you think that this is something that God can’t forgive? Doesn’t it say in scripture that, “The blood of Jesus, His only Son, is good enough for all sin?”

Tracy: Look, I know I’m forgiven, but I believe I have to pay a temporal price for my sin. If I get drunk and get in my car and I hit somebody and kill them, I have to go to jail in this world. And that is where I am, I am in jail, and there is no getting out. Then I look at Jeremy, and, no, he’s not the father. We never even made love. It was this other guy who’s the father. I was fooling around. You’re told your whole life to walk the straight and narrow and not mess up, never dreamed it would go that far. But you know, I mean Jeremy was all the way in Dallas and you know how it is in college, everybody’s partying, everybody’s drinking and then bam. What was I supposed to do? And I couldn’t tell Jeremy. I couldn’t face him, and I couldn’t have it. Now Jeremy is back in my life.

Corin: God is all about second chances. I think that that’s what he’s giving you right here is a second chance. He certainly gave me a second chance. And you know as well as I do that Jeremy will definitely forgive you.

Tracy: He shouldn’t have to.

Autumn Paul: Are you bringing him to church?

Tracy Melchior: Gary?

Autumn: Yes, Gary.

Tracy: Yes.

Autumn: He mocks God with every breath he takes.

Tracy: Rhonda, at least he’s asking the questions. I think he’s just scared.

Autumn: He should be afraid. He’s a murderer. Look, if he had his way, he’d be injecting my daughter into some experimental patient’s brain right now. He is a murderer, no better than Dr. Mengele.

Tracy: He’s Jewish. I think he would be highly offended at that analogy.

Autumn: Yeah, half Jewish. Let him be offended. Okay, abortion is the American holocaust. More babies have been killed in this country than Jews in Germany. Their blood cries out for judgment.

Corin Nemec: Rhonda.

Autumn: God will not be mocked. “The cowardly, unbelieving, abominable, murderers, sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters and all liars, shall have their part in the lake that burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death.”

Corin: Okay, so I suppose that I’m damned as well for struggling half of my life with homosexuality.

Autumn: I will not stay in this house!

Corin: Why is Christ’s blood sufficient for your sins, but not sufficient enough for mine? That is outrageous!

Reginald VelJohnson: But before we do that, let’s do what we normally do. Open up our services to prayer and to testimony, please.

Autumn Paul: Lord, your servant, Paul, warned us in Acts 20:29, that savage wolves would come in among us and not spare the flock. Protect us now, Lord, from evildoers who pretend to be upright but who instead spread the sin of homosexuality. Cast these evil doers from our presence into outer darkness where they can await your judgment. And send with them, Lord, those who profit from the victims of abortion. Abortion is the worst sin facing our nation today and the blood of those innocent children like those murdered in the days of Herod cries out for your vengeance and your fierce judgment.

Tracy Melchior: Yes, yes, Lord. Abortion is a great sin and it not only affects innocent children but adults as well. I should know. I don’t think anyone ever sets out to have an abortion. I know I didn’t, but I rebelled against God in college. And, Jeremy, I’m so sorry, but I ended up pregnant with a boy I barely knew and instead of coming home and facing you and my brother and my parents, I did a terrible thing. I took an innocent life to hide my own shame. So I guess I don’t deserve to be here.

David A.R. White: Sherry… You think you’re the only one who’s sinned? We’ve all sinned, me more than most. I gave into my flesh so often I couldn’t stand myself anymore. But if we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves. “And the truth is not in us; but if we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins. And the blood of Jesus will cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” I love you.

Tracy: I love you too.

==============================================

part of a review from Christianpost.com:

A new film coming to theatres on Apr. 30 will deal with controversial issues such as homosexuality, abortion, and promiscuity.

But the hot topics of Hidden Secrets are not ones being dealt by your everyday people. It’s Christians who are dealing with them – an angle that may encourage viewers to look deeply at the “hidden” problems that can affect Christians as much as any other person.

“Our story is about real people with real struggles,” explained David A.R. White, the film’s producer and co-star, in a statement. “Christians deal with these issues every day.”

The plot of the movie is driven by a group of people who return to their hometown to pay homage to the death of their good friend – a Christian who had always been there to guide them in their adversities. Many of the characters have not seen one another for years, and with the reunion, secrets begin to reveal themselves that had been hidden for a long time. Deep hurts start to emerge, and the characters must work through them through faith in God.

“We know that in churches around the country we find people who have either had an abortion, struggled with homosexuality, or given in to sexual temptation, yet we would rather not talk about it,” added White. “With Hidden Secrets, we decided it was time to tear off the blinders, and let people see that Christians are affected by these issues. We want people to see that there is hope and redemption, no matter what the issue. We also wanted to approach these topics in a humorous way, because laughter helps us deal with life when it gets tough.”

part of an article at “Special Guests”

WHEN DID BEING CHRISTIAN BECOME SUCH A BAD THING?

Christianity has become a convenient whipping boy of late. People have preconceived notions that label all Christians as close-minded and intolerant. They think Christians don’t understand the trials and tribulations of modern life. Hidden Secrets, the debut release from Pure Flix Entertainment and National CineMedia, blowing those perceptions out of the water, dealing head on with the most controversial social and moral issues of our day in a frank and compelling manner, including three key sub themes:

1) A man struggles with homosexuality.
2) An executive questions the use of embryonic stem cells at his company.
3) A woman deals with the consequences of abortion.

Christian films have been dealing with that for a long time. They are labeled cheesy, preachy, and corny. Pure Flix Entertainment was recently formed to challenge that perception. The firm’s debut release shows the bold new direction this Christian film takes in tackling the toughest of modern societal challenges, not normally thought of as typical Christian-film fodder. Instead, Hidden Secrets is more of a Christian “Big Chill”.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hidden Secrets

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

