Legion

85. Legion (2010) [Rated R for strong bloody violence, and language.]

summary from imdb.com:

An out-of-the-way diner becomes the unlikely battleground for the survival of the human race. When God loses faith in humankind…

directed by: Scott Stewart

starring: Dennis Quaid, Paul Bettany, Lucas Black, Tyrese Gibson, Adrianne Palicki, Kevin Durand, Jon Tenney, Willa Holland, Charles S. Dutton, Doug Jones

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
Sonny Bunch
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Lucas Black: Sorry I woke you, Charlie.

Adrianne Palicki: Nah… It wasn’t you. He’s been kicking up a storm all night. He must know something I don’t. Another bad dream? It’s just stress, Jeep. That’s all. I mean, you do too much worrying. About this place, about your dad. About me.

Lucas: You’re the only thing I like to worry about.

Adrianne: See what I mean? You’re worried about a girl that’s eight months pregnant, and it isn’t even your baby. It’s enough to give anybody nightmares.

Lucas: Go ahead and make fun of me. Everybody else does.

Adrienne: Come on. You know how much I appreciate everything that you and Bob are doing for me. About a month from now, this baby’s gonna have a new family. I’m gonna have to start thinking about what the hell I’m gonna do with my life.

Lucas: So you’re still going through with it?

Adrienne: I’m not ready to be a mama. #####, I can barely take care of myself as it is.

Lucas: Well, I could help you. I mean, we could do it together, you know? I want to.

Adrienne: You gotta stop carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders, Jeep.

Tyrese Gibson: You know, that #### ain’t really good for the baby.

Adrianne Palicki: Guess I should think about quitting then.

Dennis Quaid: Charlie, where you been? It’s not a resort. We got orders stacking up. And you best not be smoking again. A girl in your condition.

Jeanette Miller: Oh, thank you, dear! How far along are you?

Adrianne Palicki: Oh, just about there.

Jeanette: The father must by very proud.

Adrianne: I wouldn’t know.

Jeanette: He’s…

Adrianne: Out of sight, out of mind.

Jeanette: I see. So I take it you’re not married?

Adrianne: No.

Jeanette: That’s too bad.

Adrianne: No, I prefer it that way. I don’t need a man telling me what to do.

Jeanette: But what about the baby?

Adrianne: I got it under control.

Jeanette: But it’s gonna burn.

Adrianne: What’d you just say?

Jeanette: I said, your ####ing baby’s gonna burn.

Adrianne: Go to hell, lady. ####ing Jesus freak.

Dennis Quaid: What happened?

Jeanette: [laughing] All those little babies are gonna burn.

Willa Holland: Wait, so are you here to protect us?

Paul Bettany: No, not you. Her.

Adrianne Palicki: Me? Why me?

Paul: Because your child is the only hope humanity has of surviving.

Adrienne: Wait, wait, wait a minute. This can’t be happening to me. I mean, I’m nobody. I’m just a waitress. I don’t even own a car.

Paul: None of that matters anymore. Either your child lives or mankind dies.

Adrienne: Oh.

Tyrese Gibson: So we supposed to hold those things off till the baby gets here?

Paul: That’s it.

Adrienne: I’m only eight months pregnant.

Tyrese: This #### can’t be happening, man.

Kate Walsh: How are we supposed to survive here for a month?

Paul: We won’t have to.

Adrienne: It’s coming soon, isn’t it.

Paul: Yes. Listen. I simply don’t care what you people believe. And those things outside, they don’t care, either. They just want the child dead.

Lucas Black: You okay?

Adrienne Palicki: You know, the crazy thing is, I didn’t even want this baby. I even went down to the clinic, do you know that? I remember sitting in the waiting room, absolutely sure I was doing the right thing. Then I started getting this feeling. Like I was… falling into the deepest, darkest hole imaginable. I couldn’t… I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t speak. I kept thinking: “This must be what death feels like.” And when they called my name, I just ran. For a long time, I pretended I could go back whenever I wanted. End it like I planned. But then I’d start getting that damn feeling again, and I knew I didn’t have a choice. Somehow I knew this had already been decided. And it made me just… it made me hate this thing growing inside of me.

Lucas: You shouldn’t say things like that, Charlie. It ain’t right. You’ll get through this. I know you will.

Adrienne Palicki: It’s coming.

Willa Holland: Wait. Just because I’m a girl does not mean I know how to do this.

Paul Bettany: Stay calm and do exactly as I tell you.

Willa: How do you know what to do?

Dennis Quaid: What a way to bring a child into the world.

Willa: What the #### is that?

Paul: He’s coming. We need to hurry now, Charlie.

Willa: What do you mean, hurry? This isn’t exactly something we can hurry.

Paul: Charlie, I need you to push now. You push like you’ve never pushed before. Push.

Willa: Michael, who is coming?

Paul: Push!

Dennis: How many bullets you got left?

Paul: Come on. That’s it. Good.

[crying baby sound]

Willa: Charlie, you did it. Charlie, you… you did it. Here’s your baby. No, it’s okay. Your baby’s fine. Look.

Paul: She’s all right. Give her some time.

Kate Walsh: Audrey.

Willa: Look, Mom, we did it. The baby’s alive.

Kate: He’s beautiful. I remember when you were a baby. You used to look at me just like that. Just like that. Audrey, I’m sorry about what I said to you before. I didn’t mean it.

Willa: I know.

Kate: You’re the most precious thing in the world to me. You know that.

Willa: Yeah.

Kate: It’s just you and me, now.

Willa: I know.

Adrienne: Are we safe now?

Paul: No. No. But now at least the child will have a chance to grow up. A chance to lead the world out of darkness.

Adrienne: What happens until then?

Paul: You need to show him how.

Adrienne: What makes you think I can do that? What makes you think I want to do that? If he’s so important, why don’t you take him?

Paul: Because this journey is yours.

Lucas Black: Something’s happening.

Dennis: We need to go.

Paul: The possessed can’t come near the child, but he sent comeone who can, someone like me.

Lucas: Like you?

Paul: Gabriel. He’s come here to do what I wouldn’t.

Lucas: You were the one that was supposed to kill the baby. That’s the order you didn’t obey.

Paul: We need to go.

Adrienne: What is he talking about? […] What are you talking about? Michael, answer me!! Now!

Paul: The baby. The baby was never meant to be born. But the future has been unwritten. The child lives. And while he does, there’s still hope.

Adrienne: Audrey, the baby.

Willa: Mom!

Kate: Audrey, come…

Dennis: What are you doing?

Kate: You heard what he said. Thay just want the baby. I’m gonna give them the baby, then they’re gonna let us go.

Adrienne: You give him back to me right now.

Kate: Why? You didn’t even want him in the first place. Come on, Audrey! Come with me! It’s just one baby. It’s just one baby! […]

Paul: No! The child! Get the child out of here.

========================================

from screenit.com:

Charlie confesses to having considered abortion several times after learning she was pregnant…

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Legion

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

