Brick

95. Brick (2005) [Rated R for violent and drug content.]

summary from imdb.com:

A teenage loner pushes his way into the underworld of a high school crime ring to investigate the disappearance of his ex-girlfriend.

written/directed by: Rian Johnson

starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Nora Zehetner, Lukas Haas, Noah Fleiss, Emilie de Ravin, Richard Roundtree, Meagan Good

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
Big Hollywood
James Bowman
Peter Suderman
Nehring The Edge
Kurt Loder
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Joseph Gordon-Levitt: I’m telling you now, you’re in over your head. You don’t want to put your hand in this!

Noah Segan: She’s dead! You…

Joseph: Why was she scared, Dode? She came to me. Who was she scared of? I think I know why, I just gotta know who!

Noah: You’re trying to confuse me.

Joseph: Dode.

Noah: You couldn’t stand it, your little Em. She was gonna keep it. It was mine, and you couldn’t stand that!

Joseph: What was yours?

Noah: I had you pegged.

Joseph: What was yours?

Noah: I loved her, and I would have loved that kid. I’m gonna bury you.

Lukas Haas: It’s still too much.

Noah Segan: No, it isn’t. You won’t complain when you hear it.

Lukas Haas: So maybe you should.

Noah Segan: You had her up against the wall with the brick.

Lukas Haas: I know my business. It’s still too much.

Noah Segan: No, it isn’t, ’cause that’s not why she was killed, but it’s real important to you, ’cause the person who killed her is real close. ‘Cause he’s got a lot to lose. And he knows if I don’t bury him by spilling to you, I spill to the bulls and I bury him for real. And he’s really, really scared. She had a kid in her, and he couldn’t stand it!

Joseph Gordon-Levitt: Tug, it’s all right!

Lukas Haas: Tug, stop!

Noah Fleiss: She sprung it on me, just… It’s a hell of a thing to spring on a guy. I don’t remember much. Laura talked me down after. Said whatever… She knew her, said it wasn’t true. But I still think sometimes. I think about it being true, about it being mine. Maybe I did it ’cause I thought it was true. It’s a hell of a thing.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt: You got Dode thinking Em had his kid, thinking I did it, and that was enough for him, but he stuck to the money, ’cause you had your claws in him! ‘Cause he couldn’t come away from the deal without it and make you happy!

[…]

Meagan Good: You know, if it’s any consolation, it probably wasn’t Dode’s kid. It might have been Tug’s kid. Frankly, I wouldn’t bet a horse. It was kind of a crowded field there at the end, if you know what I mean.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt: But maybe you had talked Tug up. Or maybe he just blew a fuse. But when Em sprung it on him that she had her kid, he did what anyone could count on Tug doing. He hit her. She took the hit for you, and you let her take it.

Nora Zehetner: Well, that’s most of it. Nine out of 10. I told Em to tell Tugger it was his. Told her it would soften him up. She said she wished she could keep it, but she didn’t love the father. I was gonna drive her down to the doctor the next day. Most wouldn’t. She was already starting to show. Three months. Do you know whose kid that makes it? Or have you known all along?

======================================

from screenit.com:

For those concerned with such matters, there’s talk that a teen was going to have an abortion, but was killed before that happened.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brick

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

