Harsh Times

96. Harsh Times (2005) [Rated R for strong violence, language and drug use.]

summary from imdb.com:

In South Central Los Angeles, the unbalanced, deranged and neurotic ex-Ranger Jim Luther Davis meets his best friend Miguel ‘Mike’ Alonzo to drink beers and smoke joint. Jim is expecting to join the LAPD to marry his Mexican girlfriend Marta while Mike is being pressured by his mate Sylvia to find a job. When Jim is refused by the police department, he becomes furious and begins a series of violent actions until he is called by the Federal agency and assigned to work in Colombia. Meanwhile, Mike gets a dream job, making Sylvia happy. Jim invites the weak Mike and their friend Toussant to spend the weekend in Mexico. After some incidents, Jim returns bringing 20 kg of marijuana to Los Angeles, leading to a tragic end.

written/directed by: David Ayer

starring: Christian Bale, Freddy Rodriguez, Eva Longoria Parker, J.K. Simmons

A Trailer

Reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Christian Bale: C’mon, woman. I’m going crazy.

Tammy Trull: I can’t.

Bale: A little blood never scared me.

Trull: It’s not that.

Bale: What then?

Trull: Soon, they will have milk.

Bale: Milk? Didn’t you take your ####in’ injections?

Trull: Don’t get ####ed off. You did your part. I can do the rest myself.

Bale: You’re going to the doctor and getting it taken care of.

Trull: No. I love you, and I want to have your child. If you want to run away, go. I don’t need your help.

Bale: You’re ####ing nuts. What if I punch you in the belly?

[a slap to Bale’s face]

Trull: No one speaks to me like that. Not you. Not my father.

Bale: Maybe I should just shoot you.

Trull: Go ahead. Go ahead. I’m going to lose my life someday. Why not at the hands of the man I love?

[Bale pulls out gun]

Bale: Is that true? Think I am playing?

[gun placed under her chin]

Bale: You don’t know what I can do.

Trull: Yes, I know what you can do. But, I still love you. Because I see you, not your deeds. If you want to kill me… Because I love you… Then do it.

Bale: You ####ed up, woman. I’ll do it. It’s easy.

Christian Bale: I’m cool. Look, dude, she told me she was pregnant. I had a panic attack. I pulled my gun.

Freddy Rodriguez: Come on, dawg, I thought you loved her, dude.

Bale: I do.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harsh Times

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

