Felicia’s Journey

100. Felicia’s Journey (1999) [Rated PG-13 for mature thematic elements and related disturbing images.]

summary from imdb.com:

A lonely middle-aged catering manager spends all of his time studying tapes of an eccentric TV chef. Meanwhile, a young woman is making her way from Ireland to find her boy friend, who moved to England to get a job in a lawn-mower factory. On arrival, she makes an early contact with the caterer, who recommends a boarding room to her. Slowly, it is revealed that the caterer has in fact befriended and subsequently abused more than a dozen young women. He, of course, now sets his sight on this woman. Much of the story is told in flashbacks, revealing how each of the characters grew to the point where they now find themselves. However, the drama of the character interaction is more important to director, Atom Egoyan, than the potential horror of the situation.

directed by: Atom Egoyan

starring: Bob Hoskins, Elaine Cassidy, Arsinee Khanjian

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
James Bowman
movieguide.org Christian reviews

Abortion/Life Content:

Gerard McSorley: Has Lysaght got you pregnant?

Elaine Cassidy: We’re both responsible. […] I’ve missed a few times.

Gerard: How many?

Elaine: There’s no doubt about it.

Gerard: You’re carrying the enemy within you. Thank ### your mother isn’t alive to see it. You’re a whore. You’re a whore!! You’re worse than that!

Bob Hoskins: You’re fond of the boyfriend, are you? It’s not difficult to believe he’s fond of you. I said it’s not difficult to believe he’s fond of you.

Elaine Cassidy: I’m having his baby.

Bob: What?

Elaine: I’m pregnant.

Bob: Heh, heh. You’re going to be a mother!

Bob Hoskins: I’m glad you’re going to have a baby, Felicia. It’s a help to me, that.

Elaine Cassidy: A Help?

Bob: Another life coming. […] A child is a blessing, Felicia. Never forget that. A blessing. Are you thinking of having the thing terminated, Felicia?

Elaine: What?

Bob: Do they have that over there? Abortion?

Elaine: Where?

Bob: Ireland.

Elaine: There’s difficulties.

Bob: Difficulties. Of course.

Prostitute car passenger: Had an abortion six months ago. I had to get rid of it. And it had to be quick. I couldn’t think, I couldn’t breathe. Because every day, it was growing inside me. And it was becoming… becoming a person and I just… made me feel ill. I Didn’t want it. It reminded me of what I did. What I do. [???] private. I looked in the phone book. I found a clinic. Nice place, the Gishford in Sheffield. Stuff all really nice. Friendly. Didn’t ask too many questions.

Bob Hoskins making abortion reservations for Elaine Cassidy: Right, thank you. Thank you for fitting her in. Bye!

Elaine Cassidy: Johhny’s different. He’d want our baby.

Bob: And you came here to ascertain that? To make sure? Is that right, Felicia? But you never got an answer? We have to look at it like that. If the girl in the office had struck lucky today, then it would’ve been a different kettle of fish. I’m not saying it wouldn’t. But she didn’t. And I’m definitely of one mind with you now. We won’t find Johnny.

Elaine: Johnny will be over for St. Patrick’s Day. Or Easter. I was thinking about that the entire day. It could be alright when I’m there and we’re together again.

Bob: Well there’s no doubt that Johnny loves you, dear. Nothing you’ve said to me contradicts that. Now, the point I’m trying to make to you is: the situation, like you and Johnny are in, could all too easily be affected by misfortune. Ada said that, Felicia. Ada had a considerable insight into matters of the heart. The thing is, Felicia, you’re over here now. This isn’t Ireland and we have… certain facilities available. What I’m saying to you is what I’d say to any daughter Ada or myself might have had. I’m giving you the benefit of long experience. There isn’t a doubt in my mind, Felicia. I’ve thought of nothing else since I’ve rested poor Ada in the ground.

Elaine: There’s some would call it murder.

Bob: Murder? We’re not in this world to cause pain, dear. Of course, you have to think of yourself on occasion. I’m not saying you don’t. But there are other people, too. Which is something you’re daily more aware of as you grow older.

Elaine: What are you talking about?

Bob: I won’t deny you’ve been through it, Felicia. But so has your dad. And your great grand. Imagine them trying to hold their heads up. There’s that to think about, too. We all have to do terrible things, Felecia. We have to find the courage sometimes. Now you’re a young girl. When you find Johnny again, you can both make the choice to have a child. But the circumstances have to be right. A child needs to be surrounded by all the love it can. The love of the mother. Of course he’ll have that. But the love of the father. And the grandfather. And the great great grandmother. Why deprive this baby of that? I’ve put by a little that I’d gladly donate in order to do the decent thing by your family.

Elaine: Anything you lend me, I’ll send back. Every penny.

Bob: I’ve no doubt, Felicia. They can do an immediate at the Gishford.

Elaine: A what?

Bob: It’s a clinic. They can do it at once. I asked a girl to put a call into them. You could be back across the water by monday. Back a free spirit, Felicia. With the whole thing lifted from you. It’s what’s right, Felicia, believe me. It’s what’s meant.

[Elaine lies on clinic table]

Bob: C’mon, now, put your coat on. Yeah. That’s it. C’mon, let’s get you home. Thank you. We’re very much obliged.

Clinic Receptionist, Emma Powell: See that she keeps nice and warm.

Bob: A little journey, then I’ll tuck her up.

Emma: Oh, just a minute. Doctor said she wasn’t sleeping too well.

Bob: C’mon, dear. […]

Elaine: I’ll send every penny back. And every penny I’ve caused today.

Bob: Today was my treat, dear. I was happy about today. Ada would’ve liked today. But you’re in no state to travel, of course.

Elaine: I have to go.

Bob: You weren’t at all well in the car, dear. You certainly can’t set off on a journey is this condition.

Elaine: I shouldn’t have done it.

Bob: What’s done is done, dear. No one ever grew rich on regrets. What about the bright side, eh? For as long as you want it, Felicia, there’s a welcome at number 3. You have your own little room, now. The sensible thing would be if we took it day by day.

Elaine: I had dreams. The whole time it was happening. I had dreams. I dreamt that I saw him. Johnny and me. Walking with our little boy.

Bob: A boy, was it? Oh, I remember being a boy. Drink up your cocoa, dear. I’m sorry if I’m fatherly, Felicia. I can’t help being fatherly. I’ve grown fond of you.

Bob Hoskins: Oh, a chat in the car. I like the chats. Then sleep. They were always asleep when it happened, Felicia. When I layed them to rest.

Elaine Cassidy: No!

Bob: Sshhhh. I couldn’t lay you to rest, dear. Not until you’d taken care of your little one. I couldn’t do that myself, Felicia. You are my special angel sent from up above. Fate smiled down on me and sent an angel to love. You are my special angel right from Paradise. I know that you’re an angel. Heaven is in your eyes.

Elaine Cassidy: Your grandchild wasn’t born, Mrs. Lysaght. Did you tell Johnny? Did you give him any of these letters? Wherever Johnny is, I want him to know that I’m alright. The pain can wash away. Healing can commence. Lost within a man who murdered, there was a soul like any other. […] I remember the names of the ones he took away. Elsie. Beth. Sharon. Jackie. Bobbie. Samantha. I remember these names with every new face that I meet. May we all rest in peace.

=======================================

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Felicia’s Journey

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

