Match Point

101. Match Point (2005) [Rated R for some sexuality.]

summary from imdb.com:

At a turning point in his life, a former tennis pro falls for a femme-fatal type who happens to be dating his friend and soon-to-be brother-in-law.

written/directed by: Woody Allen

starring: Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Matthew Goode, Emily Mortimer, Scarlett Johansson, Brian Cox, Ewen Bremner

A Trailer

Conservo-Libertarian Reviews:
Kyle Smith
Nehring The Edge
Thomas S. Hibbs
Rightwing Film Geek

Abortion/Life Content:

Emily Mortimer: I want you to make me pregnant.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Chloe… We discussed this. It’s very quick.

Emily Mortimer: It’s not quick, we’ve been sleeping together for ages. And I want three children, and I want them when I’m young.

Emily Mortimer: Meanwhile, I don’t know what’s wrong. All my cousins get pregnant so easily.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Look… it’ll happen. I’m just really tired.

Rose Keegan: Well, you have to see a fertility doctor.

Emily Mortimer: I know. We’ve tried everything. […]

Rose: Would you ever consider adopting?

Emily: No, absolutely not. I want my own children. […]

Rose: Did I tell you Victoria Phyfe is pregnant?

Emily: Really?

Rose: She’s so happy.

Emily Mortimer: I think he really knows what he’s doing. Didn’t you get a good feeling about him?

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: To me, fertility doctors are a cut above witch doctors.

Emily: Oh, yeah. Well, he’s not like that last one. I feel like it’s gonna happen this time. […]

Jonathan: I’ve got to go to work.

Emily: Oh, really? I was kind of hoping we might, you know… before you went to work. It’s my time of the month, and remember the doctor said we really should try and do it as often as we possibly can in the morning.

Jonathan: Darling, I’m gonna be late.

Emily Mortimer: You know, I bought Chris an ancient Greek fertility charm. Do you remember?

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: I’ll never forget.

Emily: I sent off for that fertility thingy. He had to put it under his pillow for two months. And absolutely nothing happened, of course. Poor thing. I’d just subjected him to the torture.

Matthew Goode: They think he’s firing blanks.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Are you mad calling me here?

Scarlett Johansson: When are you coming over?

Jonathan: I’m trying to make it for tomorrow.

Scarlett: I can’t wait till tomorrow, I’m going crazy.

Jonathan: What the hell’s the matter?

Scarlett: I’m pregnant.

Jonathan: I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

[…]

Jonathan: How the hell did you get pregnant?

Scarlett: I told you that weekend last month that we needed to be careful and I didn’t have protection, but you couldn’t wait.

Jonathan: What unbelievable bad luck. ######, I can’t get my wife pregnant no matter how hard I try, and the minute you’re unprotected I knock you up.

Scarlett: It’s ’cause you love me, and you don’t love her.

Jonathan: Is that your interpretation?

Scarlett: It’s a child conceived out of genuine passion, not as part of some fertility project.

Jonathan: OK. Well I’ll go with you, and we’ll get it sorted.

Scarlett: I’m not doing that again.

Jonathan: Again? What’s that supposed to mean?

Scarlett: It’s the third time. I did it once when I was younger, and then I did it for Tom. I didn’t want to, but he insisted.

Jonathan: Nola, I really can’t see any other way.

Scarlett: Why can’t I just have it?

Jonathan: And what?

Scarlett: And we’ll raise it together.

Jonathan: That’s obviously not possible.

Scarlett: Why? You hate your job, you hate your life. I mean, it seems like a blessing. It’s a sign.

Jonathan: Look, Nola, I have to go. I’m juggling six things at the same time just to make this trip to the city look legit. I’ll talk to you on Tuesday.

Scarlett: Chris… You must… I expect you to do the right thing, OK? I’m not walking away from this.

[…]

Emily Mortimer: Is it something to do with those phone calls you kept getting? Because you acted really strangely after each of them. Are you having an affair?

Jonathan: Am I having an affair?

Emily: Yeah, that’s what I asked.

Jonathan: No.

Emily: You are.

Jonathan: Of course I’m not. Don’t be silly.

Emily: Do you not love me anymore?

Jonathan: Of course I love you.

Emily: Well, what’s wrong?

Jonathan: I just feel like I’m letting you down.

Emily: You’re not. How? Is it because I’m not getting pregnant?

Jonathan: I just… feel so guilty. So terribly guilty.

Emily: Listen, Chris. We’ve both been to the doctor. We’re both perfectly healthy. I can conceive and you’re perfectly capable of making a woman pregnant. Is it me? Have I been horribly pushy and obnoxious on the subject? Look, I… I just want a baby. I want to have our baby. We haven’t been lucky yet, that’s all.

Jonathan: Oh, Chloe.

Emily: Let’s get off the subject. Having a child should be something that makes us both happy and excited, not a cause of all this tension and anxiety and…

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Nola, stop!

Scarlett Johansson: Well, this is crazy. We’re having a child together!

Jonathan: We don’t have to have a child together. It would make life a hell of a lot simpler if we didn’t.

Scarlett: Yeah, simpler for you, but not for me.

Jonathan: It occurred to me that even if you had the child, I could help you out financially.

Scarlett: That’s not enough.

Jonathan: Nola, be reasonable.

Emily Mortimer: Can we tell her now?

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Sure.

Emily: Well, I wanted you to be here.

Penelope Wilton: Well, what is it?

Emily: Mummy… You can finally crack open the champagne. It looks like I’m pregnant.

Penelope: When did you hear?

Emily: This morning.

Penelope: Oh, I’m so delighted.

Emily: Oh, good.

Penelope: Alec? Alec? Come here.

Emily: We’re both walking on air.

Penelope: Well, you’re walking on air. Your husband looks a bit shell shocked.

Emily: ‘Cause I’ve exhausted him, poor thing.

Brian Cox: What?

Penelope: Chloe’s pregnant.

Brian: Oh, what a great day. Oh, my darling, congratulations.

Penelope: I’m absolutely thrilled. I couldn’t be more pleased.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers: Nola… it wasn’t easy. But when the time came, I could pull the trigger. You never know who your neighbors are till there’s a crisis. You can learn to push the guilt under the rug and… go on. You have to. Otherwise it overwhelms you.

Margaret Tyzack: And what about me? What about the next-door neighbor? I had no involvement in this awful affair. Is there no problem about me having to die as an innocent bystander?

Jonathan: The innocent are sometimes slain to make way for a grander scheme. You were collateral damage.

Margaret: So was your own child.

Jonathan: Sophocles said: “To never have been born may be the greatest boon of all.”

Scarlett Johansson: Prepare to pay the price, Chris. Your actions were clumsy. Full of holes. Almost like someone begging to be found out.

Jonathan: It would be fitting if I were apprehended and punished. At least there would be some small sign ofjustice. Some small… measure of hope… for the possibility of meaning.

Matthew Goode: Let’s work on number two. Come on.

Emily Mortimer: Come on, he is a handsome boy. Look at that face.

Matthew: Yeah, he’s gorgeous. […]

Brian Cox: With parents like Chloe and Chris, this child will be great at anything he sets his mind to.

Matthew: Do you know what, I don’t care if he’s great. I just hope that he’s lucky.

Penelope and Emily: Oh, lovely. What a lovely thought. He probably will be. Absolutely adorable.

=======================================

from screenit.com:

SCARLETT JOHANSSON plays the struggling American actress who initially wants nothing to do with Chris after their one-night stand, but eventually falls for him despite being engaged to Tom, and Chris seeing and then being married to Chloe. She drinks, smokes and we hear she had two abortions in the past, but refuses when she becomes pregnant again. […]

For those concerned about such matters, we hear that Nola had two previous abortions (one when she was younger, one that Tom — her boyfriend at the time — encouraged her to have) and Chris seems to want her to have a third for her pregnancy by him.

part of an article from 2006: “Actress Scarlett Johansson Bashes President Bush’s Pro-Life Abortion View” by Steven Ertelt from LifeNews.com

Scarlett Johansson, the “Black Dahlia” actress is the latest to add her name to the list of stars using their fame as a political platform.

Johansson recently attacked President Bush for his pro-life views on abortion. She said women’s rights would be doomed if the law was left up to him.

She accused the president, in an interview with Cosmopolitan magazine, of denying women their rights and forcing them to carry unwanted pregnancies to term.

“We’re supposed to be liberated in America but if our President had his way, we wouldn’t be educated about sex at all,” she said. “Every woman would have six children and we wouldn’t be able to have abortions.”

just to balance that out:

from a 2008 article at People.com:

The Match Point actress and director-to-be, 23, plans to tour the region for five days as part of a USO/Army Morale Welfare Recreation entertainment tour, says the organization. While there, she will visit numerous military installations, greet fans, sign autographs and interact with members of the U.S. armed forces.

“This USO tour to the Gulf region truly means a lot. I’ve wanted to go over and visit for some time, and now my moment has arrived,” says Johansson – who gets a large supply of fan letters from the military and wanted to do more than just answer them on paper.

“It’s one thing to reply to a letter or extend your thanks to service members in a speech, but it’s another thing to visit them and spend time with those that do so much for us back home,” she adds in a statement released by the USO.

This entry was posted in All Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Match Point

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Abortion in Film

Leave a Reply

